International Conference on Sign Linguistics and Deaf Education in Asia 2013 in Hong Kong

Thank you for praying. As we mentioned in the last update, January 29-February 4, I flew to Hong Kong to attend a Sign Language Linguistics Conference at the Chinese University of Hong Kong. I got through my presentation pretty well even though there were nerve wracking moments, and did indeed have the calmness, confidence, and clarity that you were praying for. Thank you so much–this is not a common experience for me in new situations where I feel out of my league. I was also able to connect with many sign language researchers and Deaf educators.

I was especially glad that Yuki (a hearing sign language translation consultant in training) and Uiko (our lead translator at ViBi) were able to come with me from Japan. Working together we were able to contact a much wider range of people than I would have by myself, and we learned a lot more together too. I ended up interpreting during many of the presentations we attended, so it was good to have them there taking notes. Although the discussion was very technical, Uiko was able to follow, and had some  eye-opening takeaways that will affect the way she does translation.

About Mark and Mary Esther Penner

Mark works as an adviser and resource to a Japanese Sign Language Bible translation project that plays a key role in the worldwide sign language Bible translation movement. Mary Esther founded a non-profit organization that partners with local communities and organizations to collect, refurbish and send wheelchairs throughout Asia.
This entry was posted in Translation. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

